Whitewash on Skeps

I am looking to paint my cloomed skeps with a lime whitewash but before I buy it would first like to make sure I’m not going to be poisoning the bees or anything else that comes into contact with it after it’s dried.

Does anyone know of any reason why I shouldn’t use lime?

Aside | This entry was posted in Natural Beekeeping. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Whitewash on Skeps

  1. Paul says:

    If anyone knows it is likely to be Chris Park at http://www.acorneducation.com , I went on one of his skep making courses. His email is visible on that site. He has a very wide knowledge of many nature related technologies and his house looked like it had a lime mortar or whitewash. However as I recall he didn’t paste the skeps with stuff, but he did put the skeps inside an outer weather shield – such as inside a protective stook (wigwam) of branches – you can see a photo of that style near the top of the main page of the website mentioned.

  2. salp111 says:

    Thanks Paul. I had forgotten about Chris. I will ask him.
    I am also putting a hackle around one, but the other I would like to paint but need a background of white on which to paint…or pale green (which apparently you can achieve by mixing fresh cow dung with lime which dries to a beautiful avocado green). I know that masonry bees are undeterred & apparently unaffected by lime in mortar but wondered if honeybees are more susceptible.

  3. salp111 says:

    In case anyone would like to know the outcome of these enquiries, it’s ok to limewash your hives but then you have to keep them dry. So no worries here in the UK then!
    I don’t think I will do it but will try to find another way.

Enter your message here

