Varroa and Treatment-Free Beekeeping

Here is a short video in which highly respected natural beekeeper and author, David Heaf, explains why he does not treat his bees for varroa.  The explanation is simple and clear and I cannot recommend strongly enough that you watch it.

Gareth, Cotswolds

This entry was posted in Natural Beekeeping. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Varroa and Treatment-Free Beekeeping

  1. solarbeez says:

    I’m totally in agreement here. We’ve got to maintain the ecosystem in the hive. Quit using antibiotics and miticides. Let the bees adapt. Maybe if we stop inspecting the hive as much (cooling it off), let them swarm naturally and build their own comb, the bees might tip the balance in coping with varroa. The sooner the better.

  2. tracywebb255 says:

    I have two hives that I keep naturally – one a national and the other a half whiskey barrel ‘skep’ . I had the bee inspector round yesterday as there are cases of foul brood in my area. However, he found varroa in the hive and said they won’t last the winter unless treated. I am against the use of chemicals and also the possibility of inhibiting the bee’s ability of creating a natural resistance to the mite.

    On the one hand I don’t want to lose my hive, and feel like I want to do all I can to keep them as they have been thriving and doing really well. On the other hand I also do not want to interfere with nature.

    The half barrel is housing a relatively new swarm from the national hive, and there seems to be a lot of drones present making me think the queen isn’t producing or is ‘missing’ . They also will not have enough stores to last them through the winter so I will have to feed them an alternative which also does not fill me with joy.

    Feeling really sad that potentially I could lose both hives. Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you

Enter your message here

