Articles on Swarms

As the swarming season is upon us, I have gathered together my own small swarm of articles on the subject.  Some of them have been on the blog for a while, while others are new.

The Wonder of Swarms looks at the sense of wonder and awe that a swarm can produce.

Who’s the Baby? – Swarms Seen Differently takes a look at swarms from a different perspective.

Swarming Bees are Healthy Bees is an article by John Haverson that first appeared in BBKA News.

Taking Swarms is also by John and gives some practical tips.

All of the articles are now grouped under Swarms.

Gareth, Cotswolds

 

This entry was posted in Natural Beekeeping. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Articles on Swarms

  1. jen3972 says:

    Thank you for this – the excellent articles are helpful and timely.

  2. salp111 says:

    Thanks Gareth. Great articles, reinforcing the wonder of nature; the fascination of bees & the dangers of our constant interference with the natural order of things.
    On which note, I have asked DEFRA several (what I think are pertinent) questions about the ban of neonics & as yet, have not received a reply. Questions such as when does it start, how is it going to be monitored, where does next years OSR seed come from, & so on. I guess they might be difficult questions to answer but if they can’t be answered, it begs another question ….what was the ban all about in the first place….a token gesture? I do think that 2 years is a miserly inadequate time to achieve any kind of conclusion as the soil is contaminated, seed etc is contaminated & it will all take several years to clear.
    I keep posting questions about this stuff but no-one replies much to it. Does that mean it’s official…..I have become a total neonic bore? Or is it that people don’t have anything to say as they don’t know much about it? It would be great to hear from another fanatic/insecticide bore as I’m beginning to feel a little stupid…y’know like I’m asking daft things. Hmm. Maybe I am. 😦

    • simplebees says:

      Sal
      No, not a bore, but its nice to talk about a variety of subjects. I know a couple of others who feel as passionate as you do on the subject of neonics and who do a lot of posting/writing. One of them is constantly firing off missives to the PM, whom he has known for many years and who happens to be his MP. If you are interested in an introduction, email me using the contact form on the home page.

      Gareth, Cotswolds

  3. johnmkubwa says:

    Sal, I have just picked up your message and wanted to let you know (belatedly) that I totally agree with you about neonicotinoids and other ‘===cides’ These toxic chemicals are persistent and do poison and kill – beneficial bacteria and microbes in soil, earthworms and insects which feed birds and small mammals to name the start of our food chain! Even glyphosate found in herbicides such as ‘Round Up’, advertised as non-persistent has been found in the urine of 70% of peple tested by Friends of the Earth. Analyses of ground and river water are showing pollution…….
    Considering honeybees; we know that chemicals applied to beehives can damage worker bees, drones and queens. These pesticides also destroy a plethora of beneficial mites and bacteria living in harmony with the Bee. The Bee has been an indicator species to me over the last 6 years; it has served to open my eyes about the wider environment.
    I have not used any chemical, pesticide or medication on colonies in my care for 5 years. Now, I see little sign of varroa. I have asked myself “Is varroa a symptom, an indicator of colonies incapable of sustaining themselves?”
    John , Hampshire

    • simplebees says:

      John said:

      I have asked myself “Is varroa a symptom, an indicator of colonies incapable of sustaining themselves?”

      Now there’s something worth pondering…

      Gareth, Cotswolds

Enter your message here

