My First Swarm!

My bees swarmed this afternoon at 14:30. Fortuitously, I was in the garden at the time  For a while, the air around the hive was thick with bees, and the njoise was incredible!  I was a bit worried that they would settle in next door’s big willow tree, but after a while, they settled in a low laburnum, close to the hive and right on the boundary with next door.  I called my mentor and he called round with a skep to collect them. He turned the skep upside down on a white sheet and we had a cup of tea while we waited to make sure that the bees outside were making their way into the skep.  When we looked under the skep a little later, we saw a piece of comb, the size of a credit card on the sheet.  Hugh thought they must have started building comb in the laburnam bush!  Those girls work fast!  Unfortunately I haven’t yet made a new Warre hive to house them, so he’s coming back this evening to take them to a new home and I’m going with him to watch and learn.ImageImageImage

This entry was posted in Natural Beekeeping, Swarms. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My First Swarm!

  1. simplebees says:

    Well done.

    Gareth, Cotswolds

Enter your message here

