Natural Beekeeping in the Telegraph

The Daily Telegraph yesterday published an article on Natural Beekeeping which you can read on-line here.  It features Heidi Herman, the Natural Beekeeping Trust and the Sun Hive. I was lucky enough to attend the Natural Beekeeping conference Heidi arranged last year and meet her and visit the Trusts’s wonderful apiary.

I expect that there will be several negative comments from some dyed-in-the-wool anti-natural conventional beek’s so I would encourage all natural beekeepers to leave a Comment in support on the Telegraph’s webpage. To do this if you don’t have a Telegraph account you need to first register by clicking on the ‘Register with the Telegraph’ link just under the text of the article – it’s free.

If enough people are favourable the Telegraph may feature more articles so PLEAS add a comment in support.

Robin

North Somerset & YABeeP

(Posted by me as I know Gareth is tied up with moving)

This entry was posted in Natural Beekeeping and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Natural Beekeeping in the Telegraph

  1. itsonlyausername says:

    I’ll have to be careful as I have already posted several comments to this article. People will be calling me a troll. 🙂 One beek got a broadside and another individual was put straight on the use of chemicals. I also got asked where I got my top bar hive from. I was informed of this particular request by my friend in Washington State, USA who spotted it. Amazing how far the ONBG has gone in such a short time. 🙂
    I agree with posting plenty of positive comments to this article. It is not just ordinary folks that read the Telegraph. I was informed of the House of Lords having a debate on bees last week. Apparently there are rather a lot of them keeping bees. There is definitely a buzz in the air. 🙂

  2. itsonlyausername says:

    I have just .received this item of news from the UK Farming group. It relates to the costs of removing neonicotinoids from agriculture. As I am sure you will all agree it is not exactly a valid report. It does not rely upon science but more on supposition. It also neglects completely the cost to agriculture of the demise of bees and other pollinators. It does not take into account the true cost of employing millions of people to manually pollinate the crops we currently employ the insect pollinators, including the bees, to do for free. If all these true costs were put into the calculations I think it would tell another story completely. Amazing what the agrochemical industry will stoop to to secure its profits from the destruction. Playing on peoples fears of food shortages and loss of jobs is the usual classical trick employed time and time again to secure the agenda of these corporations. We need to comment just as much on is article as well.

    http://www.farminguk.com/News/Restrictions-on-neonicotinoid-would-put-630m-at-risk-_24810.html

  3. Paul says:

    I like the way the report, which is something like 80 pages long, manages to mention bees just once in passing – p.28, mentioning that ceasing use of NNi would reduce forage for bees.

    Methinks an economist reading the report would mutter “externalities”.

    • salp111 says:

      OOps. think I must have missed about 79 of those pages. One was quite enough for me. In fact I posted a long rambly thing about that one page so it’s perhaps just as well I didn’t read the other 79!!!!!

  4. salp111 says:

    I found the article extremely hard to understand. Also, I have the kind of brain that is totally blinded by huge figures that are really quite meaningless to me. I am sure someone without a nasty head cold & who has a mathematical leaning could tell me what they mean. However it’s put, I am darn’ sure that hand pollinating would incur enormous red figures but that wasn’t mentioned. I wonder what the american almond farmer would think of that, hey? All those thousands of acres laid down with almonds, being hand pollinated…..sounds like billions of dollars to me.
    Like anyone with a vested interest, their brain filters seem to be sifting out anything that smacks of change & a potential reduction of income, although it could work the other way…increased income…with some imaginative thinking.
    I reckon we are all so used to buying really cheap food (from those supermarkets we love to hate & hate to love) that we have become blind, ourselves, to how much it really costs to produce that loaf of bread….organic isn’t so expensive when you think of how much has to go into producing the wheat & oil against all the agrochemical odds & pressures.
    Hah! What we need to do is get the nation on board understanding the effort & difficulties of farming & to show their appreciation by getting out their blinkin wallets!
    I have enormous sympathy for the farmers. I think they get bad press unfairly: many of them would change if they could, if the UNcoated seed they bought was priced fairly, if indeed they can get it without it being called “organic” thus priced higher. And it’s a bloody hard life, even now with all the machines to do the work for you: it’s still weather dependent & with the best will in the world, that is mostly uncontrollable.
    Having said that, in some of my research into neonics, I came across an american posting somewhere on the web that talked of “seeding” clouds which gave me pause for thought…….tbc..
    So my target is the government & not the farmer. DEFRA is the dept I hold responsible for allowing the pesticides to continue & DEFRA is the dept I will continue to challenge.
    Sal

    • itsonlyausername says:

      Nicely said Sal. Yes I agree with you about DEFRA. They are bought and paid for by the agrochemical industry and the bio-techs and the seed suppliers. If they are allowed to get away with whitewashing the harm done by neonicotinoids and all the other chemicals used in agriculture then we will lose every possible alternative to our food production system save the one they dictate we use and they dictate the price we pay for it.

      I attended the Oxford Real Farming Conference a week ago last Thursday and Friday. The message from there was about the need to restore the soil, the biodiversity, the ecosystems and the common sense traditional methods of small scale natural farming systems. When it was made clear that the food we grow today is 50% less nutritious than it was in 1960 simply because we have depleted the soil of its nutrients, not nitrogen, phosphorus and potassium but the magnesium, selenium, zinc, sodium and all the other essential nutrients required for plant and animal health as well as for our health you begin to realise why the bees and humans together are suffering so much ill health. If we don’t change course we’re done for.
      Its time for change.

      • Richard B says:

        The trial ban on nionics was threatened long enough for the product to be purchsed in advance,stockpiled and continued to be used regardless of any bans thus rendering them unconclusive, me ‘cynical’ never.
        If you personally are bothered by insects you apply a repellant not an insecticide why not do the same for crops, it certainly works on my allotment thereby allowing the insects to ‘live’ elsewhere.
        Interested in traditional methods then read ‘My Pleasant Valley’ by Lou Bromfield you will be impressed.

        Regards Richard B

  5. salp111 says:

    By the way, Gareth, hope your move went well.

  6. itsonlyausername says:

    Further information about the authors of the Neonicotinoid research paper linked in a previous comment from me.
    http://www.neonicreport.com/abouttheauthors/

    Take a look at who paid for the research.

    • salp111 says:

      Indeed. Fancy that. I only scanned it cos as far as I could see much of it seemed pretty biased, talking about the wonders of neonics & how the world will suffer huge losses without their applications….naturally! However, I was heartened to hear of the Real Farmers talking about soil restoration. Where there’s muck, there’s brass! Got to be something in that. There are literally tons of manure in this country. I know alot of it is used in the south west, & would think there’s a whole lot more elsewhere. The scale of it cross country is a little mind blowing but can’t be impossible.
      It all goes way beyond simply the bees. I started off blissfully ignorant of neonicotinoids & the state of the earth, simply wanting to host some bees in my garden. And now…..I think I have become a bit of a bee bore, you know those people when they approach & you think “oh no, now what?!”
      Oh dear. It has to be done. Sorry to all those people who simply want to talk about bees.

  7. itsonlyausername says:

    And for those interested in the total cost of pollination services provided by bees:
    http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2012/09/120904101128.htm

  8. itsonlyausername says:

    Its now turning into a landslide of evidence against the chemical industries. New research now shows even more evidence of harm to bumblebees.
    http://gmo-journal.com/2013/01/16/new-study-finds-neonics-dangerous-to-bumblebees/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+GMO-Journal+%28GMO+Journal%29

  9. itsonlyausername says:

    And there is even more news on bees. This article is about how important honeybees are to Almond orchards. It must be what they call a buzzy day for news. Oh dear!
    http://www.enn.com/top_stories/article/45469

  10. salp111 says:

    Great article about the pollinators & almonds. Wake up EPA…can add that to my list of slow acting short sighted a**e licking ineffective agencies. Am I allowed to say that on blogs like this? Oh well, too late.

  11. salp111 says:

    What great news!! There was an article in the Guardian to that effect, so the word is getting out there at last. I’m sure the agrochemical companies, viz BAYER won’t give up too easily however, as there is alot of money at stake. With any luck, EFSA will continue to see sense & convince their close cousin, DEFRA to stop approving these chemicals. We will prevail!!

  12. salp111 says:

    By the way, itsonlyausername, thanks for the interesting articles. I don’t know if anyone else has seen them or if it’s only me….but I sure do appreciate them.

    • itsonlyausername says:

      Your very welcome. I do hope they get read by others but if not at least you also know the facts. Spread the word by all means. 🙂

Enter your message here

