Newbee out on a limb

This beekeeping is like child rearing – everyone has something different to say but I value all the comments! Unfortunately I didn’t get them till I had gone out on a limb on my own.  I know now I should have hived them last night and next time I will remember to do the bed sheet trick. I woke this morning fretting about them in the little box and rain due, so went down at 7.30 am and ‘poured’ them into the hive. Some bars had clusters of bees attached which I hung in the hive. I had read in The Barefoot Bee Keeper that it was a good idea to sprinkle icing sugar in so that’s what I did – about a tablespoon – they went very quiet!

There were quite a few bees clustered in the box which had not come out in the ‘pouring’ into the hive so I placed the box about a foot from the hive entrance and watched for a while. Bees in the hive entrance were fanning (Nasonov?) and gradually the box bees flew in. I returned about an hour later and there was much humming from the TBH  and all the box bees had gone. I hope this means Queenie is alive and well and not too traumatised from my (mis)handling. I have 12 bars in so hope this will keep them happy.

The forecast for the whole week ahead is not bee friendly- rain and thunderstorms. Should I feed 1:1 sugar syrup in 4 days time? How long does it keep as I made some up late Spring with a splash of organic cider vinegar, which I have kept in a glass jar in the pantry. Can I still use it?

Thanks again for the support!

This entry was posted in Natural Beekeeping, Swarms. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Newbee out on a limb

  1. simplebees says:

    The forecast for the whole week ahead is not bee friendly- rain and thunderstorms. Should I feed 1:1 sugar syrup in 4 days time? How long does it keep as I made some up late Spring with a splash of organic cider vinegar, which I have kept in a glass jar in the pantry. Can I still use it?

    Taste the syrup to see if it is OK. If it tastes beery or fermented, make some new.

    Yes, the weather is not good for the rest of the week, so be prepared to feed them if they are not flying or building comb.

Enter your message here

