mesh floors

I have mesh floors in both my top bar hives which are now covered with wood chippings from sawn trees off Salisbury Plain. There is rotting wood, bits of twig and some leaf which I have spread thinly on the middle of the floor and more thickly up the sides to replicate the inside of a trunk. Both hives are baited and I now wait patiently for some bees to approve their new home.

This entry was posted in Bee Hive Floors. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to mesh floors

  1. FollowMeChaps says:

    Tramcaro – I do the same in my hives to help provide a natural ecosystem – the bees seem to like it! I don’t have mesh floors though as I took mine out. I didn’t want a space below the mesh that the bees couldn’t reach to deal with any problems.
    Robin

Enter your message here

